

Report to: Full Council – 19 July 2022

Director Lead: Sue Bearman, Assistant Director – Legal & Democratic Services

Lead Officer: Nigel Hill, Business Manager – Elections & Democratic Services, Ext. 5243

Report Summary		
Report Title	Political Composition of the Council and allocation of seats on Committees to Political Groups.	
Purpose of Report	Following the recent by-election held on 30 June 2022, to inform the Council of the political composition of the Council and to consider proposals for the allocation of seats on Committees to Political Groups, as required by Council Procedure Rule No. 1.1.2.	
Recommendations	That the Council agree the allocation of seats to Political Groups in accordance with Appendix A to the report. That changes be made in Committee memberships as advised at the meeting.	
Reason for Recommendation	To ensure the Council complies with Section 15 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 and the Local Government (Committees and Political Groups) Regulations 1990.	

1.0 Background

- 1.1 As Members will recall the allocation of seats to Committees was last considered at the Annual Meeting held on 17 May 2022. The allocation at that time was calculated on 38 Members given the vacancy due to the resignation of Councillor Neal Mitchell and was based on the Council's new governance arrangements.
- 1.2 The allocation of seats requires a further review at this meeting following the District Ward by-election for the Ollerton Ward held on 30 June 2022, and is sadly still based on 38 Members given the fresh vacancy following the death of Councillor Michael Brown.
- 1.3 The result of the by-election was as follows:

Kelly Fordham (Conservative)	395 votes
Mike Pringle (Labour)	962 votes
Jeremy Spry (Independent)	125 votes

2.0 Present Position

2.1 Given the changes referred to above, the seats held by each Group on the Council are now as follows:-

	No. of Seats
Conservative	29
Labour	6
Liberal Democrat	2
Independent	1
Vacancy	1

2.2 Under the new Leader / Executive model of governance only certain Committees are required to reflect the political balance. There are a total of 77 seats on Committees which must comply with political balance rules as follows:-

<u>Committee</u>	No. of Members
------------------	----------------

Policy & Performance Improvement Committee	15
Planning Committee	15
Licensing Committee	15
General Purposes Committee	15
Audit & Governance Committee	12
Board of Gilstrap Trustees	5
Total	77 seats

Based on these arrangements the following calculation can be made:-

a) No of seats on Council = 39 (but the calculations have been made on 38 given the current vacancy)

% of total seats held by each Group (rounded) =

	%
Conservative	76.32
Labour	15.79
Liberal Democrats	5.26
Independent	2.63
	100%

b) The allocation of seats to each Group on these Committees would be:-

			<u>Rounded</u>
Conservative	77 x 76.32%	58.76	59
Labour	77 x 15.79%	12.15	12
Liberal Democrats	77 x 5.26%	4.05	4
Independent	77 x 2.63%	2.03	2
			77

c) The number of seats allocated on Committees to each Political Group is therefore as follows:

Conservative	59
Labour	12
Liberal Democrats	4
Independent	2

- 2.3 The impact of the change in composition is that the Conservative Group lose two seats to the Labour Group.
- 2.4 The proposed allocation of seats on Committees to each political group is set out in the matrix which is attached as **Appendix A** to the report.

3.0 **Implications**

There are no implications arising from this report.

Background Papers and Published Documents

None.